Hardman's Thoughts

Pretty much everything…

Modern Music Formula

Leave a comment

I love music; I don’t go a day without listening to it – in fact I rarely go half a day without listening to something and my favourite moments are when I’m listening to music for hours. I’m not restricted to one genre either, with pretty much everything from metal to classical music on my iPod including some R&B but with everyday that goes by, the music industry annoys me more. It has now got to the point where I want to vent these frustrations by writing them down so here it is. I’m nowhere near being an expert on the industry part of the music industry but I know I like music and bands to be.

First of all, I hate how selfish people can be when it comes to music. They hear a track on the radio, and maybe YouTube the band. Then a lot of people, not all by a long stretch, go and illegally download that track. You get the track for free, where is the harm in that? I’ll tell you where. When record labels and artists run out of money so much that they can’t produce new records. You’ll be sitting there thinking this will never happen but it is an unavoidable consequence of illegally downloading. If you truly like what someone has made you wouldn’t illegally acquire it. It’s like that advert they used to put on the start of films – “you wouldn’t steal a handbag” one – music piracy is hurting the music industry the same way film piracy continues to hurt the film industry. I don’t get the people, who say that the music industry is so big it can survive all this downloading; nothing has infinite resources – and especially something that gets knocked back every day by people illegally acquiring their produce.

My next frustration is actually with the music industry itself, something I’m calling the Modern Music Formula (yes – that’s a deliberate play on a Biffy Clyro song title). The first part of this is where you make it big through TV, release an album or two and then get dropped by the record labels because someone else has come along who is more exciting than you are. I don’t like the X-Factor, I’ve watched a couple of series of it but what it does, in theory, shouldn’t be a bad idea. Take an artist who can really sing and turn them into a star but the harsh reality is that it just doesn’t work. Very few from the X-Factor ever make it big and I can almost guarantee that none will have the lasting success that artists such as U2, Tom Jones and Bruce Springsteen have had. Most of that is down to how fickle the record labels are these days. They don’t accept failures anymore, one bad album and you are dropped. Record labels don’t care about whom you are, they just want to make money. It seems to me that the best way to ensure you stick around is to set up an independent record label, but if everyone did this then it would beg the question – what is the need for record labels anymore? In fact, that question should be considered right now. They are useful for artists who want to start and get their album heard because they can provide proper studios and public exposure but then you are in the public’s mind, why not leave? If you can set up a way to produce your own music, you will be much more long lasting than bands are these days. So I guess the artists should turn the tables on the labels. Either that or set up a deal that ties the record label down to a certain number of albums then see how successful you have been after this. I mention this method because I know that’s what Muse did initially, and no-one can really say that they haven’t been successful. There will be more on Muse later.

Something I briefly mentioned in that paragraph is how music artists make it big these days, most do it the old fashioned way of playing gigs in their local town to gain attention then finding a record label to produce a debut album. But some, as touched upon, use the modern methods available to them. One of the biggest ways to get heard about is the internet, either through social networking (one of the biggest faults I had with MySpace in the end was the amount of bands requesting to be your friend just because you were friends with a band similar to them – it was bound to happen at some point) or through YouTube. Apart from these ways being annoying to users of the websites, they are actually a very effective way of improving your fan base and I actually would encourage more bands to do this. Making it big through TV is something I have a slight issue with. Like I said earlier, this shouldn’t be a problem – if you can sing or play an instrument well then TV is an awesome way for people to get to know you but inevitably these shows turn into popularity contests and the talented artists who aren’t controversial usually get forgotten about. I can’t think of a way to change this but it is ridiculous that Jedward still get airplay and cultural references when bands such as Kaiser Chiefs have been all but forgotten.  

The second part of the formula is overexposure. Too many artists are being put at every TV event, at every big event and being expected to write hit after hit. It’s not humanly possible for anyone to do that. Even the biggest and best artists have released bad songs in the past. The TV companies and radio presenters who love these bands now will have moved on in the future when the next winner of the X-Factor can release stuff. Once the exciting talents now release a bad song, that’s it – they have been forgotten about. Yes, loyal fans will stay with their heroes as long as they can but most of the artists I’m thinking about here have fans that will grow out of their music eventually. Another point to consider is the artist’s health. If they are flying here and there playing gigs, raising money then brilliant but what happens when they are forgotten about? That can’t be easy for anyone to deal with and their health will probably suffer, causing them to be both unemployed and hurting. That is maybe a bit extreme but is definitely something to consider, they are after all human beings just like you and I.

The third part of this formula is how artists are set up these days. They are set up to raise as much money as possible, most really popular artists use auto-tuning to make them sound better than actually are. It’s about releasing singles and gaining money from that rather than playing gigs. I’ve never been to a gig of an artist who I consider does this but I can imagine that they wouldn’t be as brilliant experiences as my gigs have been. Muse are the Kings of live shows and they manage to sound like they do on the album while adding a proper show. They don’t have dancers on stage with them, undermining the performance of the songs – they let the music be the focus of the show while trying to make it sound like it does on the album and adding riffs to the end of the songs. I can imagine the artists I dislike will just stick a backing track on and do a lot of dancing while funnily never sounding out of breath. I don’t understand how you can make music without the intention of making it sound good live. One of the beautiful thing about music is how you can take a tune you’ve made and adjust it so that it sounds even better live, like changing or increasing a solo or adding a different verse to it. But most of these artists wouldn’t know how to add verses onto their songs because they haven’t written them. I don’t understand how you can feel passionate about music when you haven’t written the lyrics yourself. Surely, the lyrics are the most important element to a pop or rock song – why pass this responsibility to someone else, music should be about emotions you feel, situations you have experienced or matters you feel passionate about not what anyone else feels.

 My final gripe with the music industry is with the artists themselves. More specifically the artists who come on late to the stage while playing gigs. I’ve heard a lot of stories of this, most recently Bieber being late to his London show on a school night. The most ridiculous I’ve heard is that Nicki Minaj was an hour late to her Manchester show because her inflatable car wasn’t blowing up. Does any of your audience give a damn about a bloody inflatable car? No. They are there to hear your music and see you. Not see an inflatable car. Apparently Bieber was suffering from something, which is fair enough but it was ridiculous that no announcement was made and no apology from him during the show. And it isn’t just something that pop artists do. Rock artists do it too, with many of them being cut off halfway through the set because they came on too late. I’ve seen one band do it and a combination of that and one of the singers having a sore throat meant they didn’t play one of my favourite songs, which I was a tad annoyed about. Axl Rose of Guns N Roses is probably the most famous for being late onto stage, and then he acts like the world is against him when fans and organisers react angrily to it. It does my head in. I like going to gigs and I pay a lot of money to go see bands I like live. I don’t really think about it twice, I want to do it so I do. But if I paid a lot of money to see bands come two hours late onto stage then I would be the first to complain. It’s not rock and roll, it’s selfish and annoying.

I’m not afraid to say that I’m an idealist in pretty much all walks of life. I know this blog won’t change anything in the music industry but I want to get it out there to put my view across. I believe music should be from the heart and for the people. I believe music should be something you wrote about and care about rather than being something you were told to do by a boss or shown by a writer. If you get into music you should care about your fans, no matter how big you get.

Author: GHardman42

Mancunian. Main passions are Sport and Mus(e)ic. Huge Everton, AM, Lancashire, JB and England fan! I play tennis like Dolgopolov (except nowhere near as good). Josh has said "You just don't know what will come next"

Leave a Reply

